Thursday 01.12.2017

CrossFit Artis – CrossFit

Rest Day Game

Medball Volleyball. Every time you have the ball you must thruster the ball and then perform a burpee. You get three passes then it must go over the box. Teams of 2


My Crossfit story began this past July. In June we had our family pictures taken. The results were mortifying to me. I looked at the picture of myself and was disgusted with the way I looked. I felt angry for letting my weight get so out of control. I was working out at local gym on my own and was getting nowhere with it. I told myself I needed a change. My brother works out at a Crossfit Gym in Littleton, CO where he lives and really likes it. So I did Google search for Crossfit gyms in the Omaha area. I reached out to a couple of places by phone and didn’t get a very good vibe from the people I talked to.

I then saw this place called Crossfit Artis and they were in the middle of a free week. I jumped out of bed at 4:30 AM the next morning and attended my very first Crossfit workout at 5AM. It was a wake up call. The intensity of the workout brought me back to football Two-a-Days. I was hooked after the first day. The workout was hard but Jon and the other 5AMers were right there next to me, guiding and reassuring me that I could do it. I had never felt so welcome at a gym before.

I would say my first impression of Crossfit was negative. Over the past few years as a Massage Therapist I have had a lot of patients come in with Crossfit related injuries and, myself not knowing what Crossfit even was, lead me to believe that Crossfit = injury. I now know that crossfiters that use improper form and technique = injury. Jon really goes out of his way to make sure we use proper form, eliminating most injuries. That leads into the reason that I stayed at Artis. I feel really safe and comfortable doing the workouts under Jon’s watchful eye. He is like a shepherd protecting his flock.

The thing I like most about Artis is that it makes me feel like I have a second family. We sweat and bleed together. We also curse together about having to workout at 5AM!

I think that in Crossfit you are only going to get out of it what you put in it. I started out weighing 245 lbs and not eating the best. I am now down over 25 lbs and eat a clean diet. I feel like if you are willing to work hard, and you can accomplish anything. 

About artisstrengthandfitness

I am the head Strength Coach at Artis Strength and Fitness. I have been coaching and teaching fitness for over four years. My goal is to reach as many people as possible and help them understand "true fitness".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

