Wednesday 08.31.2016

CrossFit Artis – CrossFit


Kane is an amazing person to have in the gym. He is a member that you are so grateful to have because he motivates other people and really works hard at getting better.  He is our Featured Athlete and here is his story:

I grew up just North of Omaha in a small town called Blair (go Bears). I’ve always been fascinated with the human body, and exploring what it is capable of physically. I’ve had a love of health and fitness for as long as I can remember, from lifting weights as an adolescent to playing sports year-round as soon as I was old enough. There’s something sacred, peaceful, brutal, and exhilarating in the moments you are exercising and/or competing – nothing matters but being in that moment and being strong mentally to push yourself physically to your fullest. What you learn about yourself in those moments, and what you are able to free your mind of, well it’s hard for me to put that into words. I guess that’s why I’ve always been drawn to sports, fitness, and competition. 

In addition to playing sports through Jr. High and High school, I loved health class and being in the weight room. I took every health, PE, and weight lifting class I could. Then after graduating high school I did a short stint in the Army, where I once again played sports all the time, including running track and being on the Fort Benning boxing team. Then I moved back to Nebraska to attend college at UNO, where I received my undergraduate degree in exercise science and a graduate degree in health and fitness management. I then taught exercise science classes for about the next 10 years as an adjunct professor at UNO, while also working at a Corporate Wellness consulting company in Omaha. At UNO is where I met Jon Day. This is also where I got my first exposure to CrossFit. Over the years I was teaching I had students do presentations about CrossFit and class activities to demonstrate what CrossFit was about. We even did a workout once and, simply put, it kicked my ass! I was intrigued but didn’t really look further into it. I was already playing in sports leagues most nights of the week including city basketball league, indoor soccer, sand volleyball, flag football, fastpitch softball, and baseball.
Fast forward through several small details, several years, and keeping in touch periodically with Jon. I knew how hard Jon worked in the classroom so I knew he would be a great coach and business owner. I stopped in for a free week to check out CrossFit Artis. I think I was 37 at the time. I stuck around for a few weeks until my wife had our son. Fast-forward about three more years and another son later. I had been sitting at a desk job for about 9 years at the time, fueling myself with caffeine and sugar to compensate for getting little sleep. I was also getting even less physical activity as I had no time and little interest in sports leagues anymore with two babies at home. My health had declined to the point where I had put on some extra pounds and I started to see my cholesterol, triglycerides, and glucose levels in the borderline range. I had been running, off and on, but running was getting to be boring. I had also spent my fair share of years working out in the globo gym scene, but again over time that got boring to me and I did not really care much for the superficial atmosphere. I knew I needed to get active again for my physical and mental health.
One night I was sitting at home watching ESPN and the CrossFit games were on. I was fascinated with how hard the athletes worked, what they were capable of doing, and the diversity in the workouts. I was hooked. I started adding new equipment to my home gym and doing scaled versions of daily workouts I would find on the Internet or through iPhone apps. It didn’t take long to realize I needed coaching to learn many of the skills, and Olympic lifting was a foreign language to me. I also knew Jon had moved his gym to a new location, that was only minutes from my office. I stopped in one day while running an errand and Jon was just getting done with a class. We chatted about my goals, and I believe I started coming to workouts that same week. That was early November 2015, about 10 months ago. I was 41 and ready to connect again with something I loved – working out. I was pretty green when it came to CrossFit though. 
Over the months I have been a “noon lounger” at CrossFit Artis I have learned so much from coaches Jon and Jen Day. Even with my background there was, and still is, so much for me to learn. I’m obsessed and I can’t wait to get to the gym each day. 
The most surprising thing about CrossFit is the community. I’ve always been a “loner” when working out. I love putting on headphones, getting into my zone, and getting after it. At CrossFit people encourage each other during workouts, and high five and compliment each other afterward. That was odd and uncomfortable to me at first. It took some getting used to, but once I understood it I wouldn’t want it any other way. You still get into your zone, but you see people around you doing the same, busting their butts giving everything they have. That is so motivating and it pushes me to work even harder. When you finish you are grateful for that. You are going to war against yourself, facing down your own limitations and trying to get better. You can’t help but bond with people around you doing the same. That is probably my favorite thing about CrossFit. 
Since joining CrossFit I have met some of the nicest, hardest working, and generous people. In addition to being better physically and mentally, I enjoy being around people that make me a better person. 
I plan to keep doing CrossFit until – well I can’t imagine what would ever make me stop. I hope to work hard enough to eventually make it to the masters regional qualifier, and if I am blessed to have the ability, it would be great to represent CrossFit Artis as a masters athlete at the CrossFit Games someday. If I don’t have the ability to get that far, well at least I’ll get to work out with great people, at a great place, with great coaches doing something I love. 

Handstand Walk (Max Distance)

Metcon (4 Rounds for reps)

Burpee Box Jumps

max in 30 seconds

Push Press (10-10-10-10)

Ring Rows (15-15-15-15)

BB GHD Hip Extension (10-10-10-10)

empty barbell

About artisstrengthandfitness

I am the head Strength Coach at Artis Strength and Fitness. I have been coaching and teaching fitness for over four years. My goal is to reach as many people as possible and help them understand "true fitness".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

