Tuesday 05.17.2016

CrossFit Artis – CrossFit

Metcon (10 Rounds for time)

Every 3min for 30min complete

15 Wall Balls

15 Buprees

15 Double Unders (Unbroken)

 

kellymatt

Kelly is our Featured Athlete and here is her story:

I lifted weights a little bit in high school, but I never felt very comfortable while doing it and only lifted while training for team sports (soccer and volleyball).  As an adult, I was a little lost as far as workout routines go.  I started cycling a lot (which I love) and would run on the treadmill (which I hate).  After hitting a long plateau, I decided to seek out a personal trainer.  He had me lifting weights regularly (free weights and machines), which took some getting used to.  After that, I began to notice my body composition change a little bit.  After a couple years, my trainer switched gyms and I started looking for other alternatives.  I would often see Facebook posts from my high school friend, Jen Day, about her CrossFit gym.  I was really attracted to the gymnastics aspects of CrossFit, because I loved & competed in gymnastics as a kid.  I decided to message her one day to see if this was something I could do with bad knees.  She encouraged me to come to the gym and talk about it with her and her husband, Jon Day.  They were very knowledgeable and put me at ease.  After discussing the particulars of my knee problems, I felt confident that this was something I could do.  They encouraged me to attend a promotional free week and suggested that I make modifications to certain movements in order to slowly strengthen the muscles around my knees.  To be honest, free week was a little intimidating, since I didn’t know anyone else there besides Jen.  But, once I saw Artis’ family-like atmosphere and how fun the classes were, I was reassured.  I joined their gym and my world opened up.

It’s been almost 3 years now at Artis, and I absolutely love coming to the gym.  I look forward to it.  How many people can say that about going to the gym?  I’ve made a lot of friends there and seeing them throughout the week is often the highlight of my day.  While I still enjoy the gymnastics movements, I have really grown to love and appreciate lifting.  There is something cathartic and empowering about lifting heavy weight.  One of the best things to come out of CrossFit for me is, I have strengthened my knees to the point they no longer bother me.  I can do lunges and split jerks, which were impossible when I started.  I’ve learned a lot about nutrition, about myself, and I am excited to see what else I can accomplish.

About artisstrengthandfitness

I am the head Strength Coach at Artis Strength and Fitness. I have been coaching and teaching fitness for over four years. My goal is to reach as many people as possible and help them understand "true fitness".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

