Monday 11.30.2015

12 min to establish 3rm Power Clean

then immediately into

8min AMRAP

20 Thrusters (95/65)

25 Toes to Bar

30 Box Jumps (24/20)

rest 2min

4min AMRAP

10 Thrusters (95/65)

15 Toes to bar

20 Box Jumps

David G. is our Featured Athlete of the Week!

DAVID

I’m a late bloomer.  I didn’t play any sports in high school.  I wasn’t terribly coordinated for all those highly-skilled team sports.  I did, however, start swimming to stay fit.  Then I got into running, and later biking.   I did half-marathons and, eventually, marathons.  Then, I moved into Olympic distance triathlons.   I evolved into one of those endurance athletes who just kept doing what I was doing…6 miles a day/5 or 6 days a week, etc.    But, I wasn’t getting faster or stronger really.  I was just running off my Ben & Jerry’s habit.
After the 2011 NYC Marathon, my 4th where I finished looking more like death-warmed-over, I was looking to change it up.    At that time Katherine was teaching yoga at Smith & Esch,  which is where Jon and Jen had just launched their Crossfit program.  Katherine witnessed the intensity and diversity of the classes and suggested it might just be crazy enough to keep my attention.  I started in Jon’s Crossfit Endurance program (because I was a “runner”), but quickly gravitated to the traditional classes.  One of my first real WODs was on Memorial Day 2012..you guessed it…”Murph”.    I thought this group was nuckin’ futz!  Who could do 100 pull ups let alone all that other BS?  Luckily I did it as a partner WOD (like 30 me/70 them) with a very cool dude you many know, Mike Jung, who really showed me how it could be done and inspired me to just keep working.  You know how it is, you love it or hate it.
I loved that this was all new to me and quite a challenge.  I came to class scared most days…mostly freaked-out by Oly lifting techniques.  But, being an endurance athlete, I really took to the metcon WOD’s.   I’ve learned so much and improved on many of my weaknesses.   There are two simple reasons I do Crossfit, (and all guys my age should be doing this):  1) flexibility and 2) strength.   You cannot get those things by running, biking or swimming alone.    I’m really proud of my improvement in the Oly lifting techniques (from ridiculous to respectable).  And, I’m simply most excited about both my bar and ring muscle-ups (what I think of as the real Crossfit hat-trick).
As many of you know, I get around.  I often pop into Crossfit gyms all over the country.  I’ve been coached by many good coaches and some average ones.  I can tell you that I’ve experienced no better coaching that we receive from Jon Day:  He is highly skilled, patient, supportive, positive and uniquely tailors the task to your abilities.  And Jen has completely changed my thinking on diet and eating.  I’ve learned a ton from listening to her and it has changed the way I eat (but not my drinking…I’m happy to report that’s consistent).
I am proudly “Crossfit Artis OG”.  I think I popped in during the first month Jon started the program.  The Crossfit Artis community is a fine reflection of it’s coaches and attracts a quality bunch.  I feel privileged to be part of this community and appreciate you all enduring my endless banter (second only to Tim McGee’s).  You are competitive and supportive all at the same time.  You have certainly made me a better athlete.
About artisstrengthandfitness

I am the head Strength Coach at Artis Strength and Fitness. I have been coaching and teaching fitness for over four years. My goal is to reach as many people as possible and help them understand "true fitness".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

